Willow Glen receiver Connell Ryans (#11) was named MVP of the Santa Teresa Division
Connor Sochocki/Prep2Prep

Blossom Valley announces football award winners

December 6, 2017

The Blossom Valley Athletic League announced the post-season all-league teams and top award winners for all three football divisions. Four players earned MVP honors, as the West Valley Division split the designation.

Piedmont Hills quarterback Gabriel Reclusado was named MVP of the Mount Hamilton Division, after leading the Pirates to an 8-2 mark in the regular season. The junior completed 68 percent of his passes for 2,431 yards and 37 touchdowns, while also running for a team-high 922 yards and six touchdowns. His finest night came in a 49-21 win over Westmont, when he threw for 299 yards and five touchdows, while also running for 102 yards and a score.

Willow Glen senior Connell Ryans was named MVP of the Santa Teresa Division, after leading the Rams to a 5-2 record in league play. Ryans caught 38 passes for 487 yards and 12 touchdowns, and also ran for 243 yards and a score.

Sobrato quarterback John Bell and Overfelt running back/linebacker Shalom Filoialii shared MVP honors in the West Valley Division.

Filoialii ran for 1,419 yards and 18 touchdowns for the Royals, averaging a whopping 14.1 yards per carry. He also had 123 total tackles at linebacker, with 15 tackles for a loss, two forced fumbles, and two fumble recoveries. Bell led Sobrato to a perfect 7-0 mark in league play during his senior season, as he completed 65 percent of his passes for 1,806 yards and 17 touchdowns, while also running for 390 yards and seven scores.


MVP - Gabriel Reclusado (Piedmont Hills)

Senior of the Year - Eddie Orozco (Pioneer)

Junior of the Year - Jonathan Singleton (Live Oak)

Sophomore of the Year - Moon Ashby (Oak Grove)

Freshman of the Year - Logan Wieman (Live Oak)

Offensive Player of the Year - Cameron Rottler (Westmont)

Defensive Player of the Year - Rafael Alvarado (Piedmont Hills)

Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Tevita Pahulu (Leigh)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Matt Troxel (Lincoln)

Outstanding Defensive Back - Jasira Harvey (Oak Grove)

Outstanding Offensive Back - Elijah Dominguez (Oak Grove)

Outstanding Linebacker - Josue Rodriguez (Live Oak)

Outstanding Receiver - Troy Rottler (Westmont)

Outstanding Utility Player - Ethan Janto (Santa Teresa)


MVP - Connell Ryans (Willow Glen)

Senior of the Year - Nolan Gallagher (Branham)

Senior of the Year - Tanner Scattini (Branham)

Junior of the Year - Kyle Anderson (Leland)

Sophomore of the Year - Carson Yates (Leland)

Offensive Player of the Year - Kylan Harris (San Jose)

Defensive Player of the Year - Bryan Kanongataa (Independence)

Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Frank Poso (Branham)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Brandon Dang (Silver Creek)

Outstanding Defensive Back - Cannon Yates (Leland)

Outstanding Offensive Back - Dylan Oliver (Del Mar)

Outstanding Linebacker - Mitchell Braun (Branham)

Outstanding Receiver - Jevon Smith (Independence)

Outstanding Utility Player - Waking Bailey (Willow Glen)


MVP - Shalom Filoialii (Overfelt)

MVP - John Bell (Sobrato)

Senior of the Year - James Bankston (Andrew Hill)

Junior of the Year - Ulysses Reyes (Overfelt)

Sophomore of the Year - Miguel Mejia, Jr. (Andrew Hill)

Offensive Player of the Year - Jared Jones (Sobrato)

Defensive Player of the Year - Jon'mae Wafford (Overfelt)

Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Nick Perazzo (Sobrato)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman - David Lei (Prospect)

Outstanding Defensive Back - Harrison Zhang (Sobrato)

Outstanding Offensive Back - Noah Tirri (James Lick)

Outstanding Linebacker - Zeke Jasso (Andrew Hill)

Outstanding Receiver - Ryan Monahan (Sobrato)

Outstanding Utility Player - Evan Sablan (Evergreen Valley)

For complete Mount Hamilton all-league team, click here.

For complete Santa Teresa all-league team, click here.

For complete West Valley all-league team, click here.

Are you a high school student interested in a career in sports journalism? For more information, please click here.